November Book Haul

I thought it was high time that I made my first book haul post. I recently borrowed a stack of books & comics from the library, as well as bought a few. The links take you to GoodReads.

The Library Haul


Ursula K. Le Guin: The Left Hand of Darkness
Ian M. Banks: The Player of Games
H.G. Wells: Maailmojen sota (War of the Worlds)

In an effort to finish my 7 science fiction books challenge this year, I borrowed three sci-fi books which I need to read in order to finish.

Karen Marie Moning: Darkfever

I also borrowed this urban fantasy book, since it was sitting there on the shelf. A lot of people on GoodReads and various book blogs seem addicted to the series, so I decided to check it out. I’m almost finished. So far, the book has been a light piece of fluff – OK, but nothing special.


Kaoru Mori: A Bride’s Story vol. 1 & 2
Bill Willingham: Fables vol. 8 & 9

My comic book haul included some lovely historical manga by Kaoru Mori, as well as a couple of volumes of re-imagined fairy tales à la The Fables.

Bought Books


Stephen Fry: Moab Is My Washpot
Gail Carriger: The Parasol Protectorate series – boxed set

(Soulless, Changeless, Blameless, Heartless, Timeless)

I bought Stephen Fry’s autobiography of his early years. I’ve already read the follow-up, the Fry Chronicles. Who doesn’t love Stephen Fry?

I also picked up the whole Parasol Protectorate series. I’ve already read it, but wanted to own it. When I saw this boxed set at the store, it was the perfect opportunity to get all five books. The plots are sometimes a bit shaky, but I love the characters. Professor Lyall is my favorite. <3


Michael Ende: Tarina vailla loppua (The Neverending Story)
Susan Cooper: Pimeä nousee (The Dark is Rising series)

I visited my usual used books store and picked up these children’s fantasy books in Finnish, only 4 euros per book. The Neverending Story was one of my favorite movies as a kid, and I’ve read the book at one point as well. I have never actually read The Dark is Rising series, but since the whole series was gathered into two volumes, I figured why not pick them up? It’s high time I read them.

Have you been spending your money on some new books recently, or found something interesting from the library? Comment below or link me to your haul!

This haul is also linked at Stacking the Shelves, which is a weekly haul meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.

One thought on “November Book Haul

Leave a Reply

