It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Today I visited the library and came back with a bunch of stuff. Libraries are awesome, but also quite daunting. I can never borrow just that one book I went there to get, I always find something extra to take home with me. :D Since I’ve also bought quite a few books recently, I think that perhaps it would be the time for me to make my first book haul post… But today let’s take a look at what I’m reading and what I have read during the past week.

I am currently reading

@ GoodReadsA Bride’s Story, vol.1
By:
Kaoru Mori
From: The library

I just started reading this graphic novel when I came back from the library today, so I’m not that far in. It is a story of a young woman married to a boy eight years her junior, who is also from another tribe. The setting is 19th century Silk Road.

I picked this up because I’ve previously read Kaoru Mori’s Emma, a historical graphic novel about a maid in Victorian England. I love how Mori draws detailed and (as far as I know) historically accurate clothes and environments.


Zombies vs. Unicorns
Edited by:
Holly Black & Justine Larbalestier
From: My bookshelf

I’m also continuing with the delightful short story collection Zombies Vs. Unicorns. Last night I read Maureen Johnson’s zombie story, and was pleasantly surprised. I didn’t really like the novel I’ve read by her, 13 Little Blue Envelopes, but this short story was the scariest and most disturbing in this collection so far!

Last week I read

@ GoodReads
Last week I finished reading Rot and Ruin by Jonathan Maberry, and I loved it. It’s a zombie novel that dwells more on the psychological side of living in a world with zombies, although there’s also plenty of action.

Last week I posted

2012 Sci-Fi Challenge 4 of 7: The Stars My Destination – review

So, what are you reading this week?

 

“It’s Monday, what are you reading?” is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

    • Not everyone can be a zombie fan! I’m more of a vampire fan myself, but I think zombies make great horror, and also good metaphors for various things.

      Zombies vs. Unicorns has some lovely unicorn stories in it as well, though I have to admit that the zombie stories have been better so far. I’m about half way through the book, so the unicorn stories still have a chance of winning me over.

    • Yes, I’ll definitely continue – I liked the writing too much not to! I was real happy, though, that the first book can also work as a self-contained story (I hate cliffhanger endings).

      I hadn’t read anything from Maberry before, either, so I had no expectations.

Leave a Reply

