It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Last week I was still taking it easy with the reading because of my sudden bout of back pain, and finished only one book. I’m feeling almost back to normal now, so the reading continues (with frequent stretching pauses)!

I am currently reading


Phoenix Rising by Pip Ballantine & Tee Morris
(Ministry of Peculiar Occurences #1)
From: My bookshelf

I have just started to read this steampunk novel. I discovered it in GoodReads, thought it looked interesting, and decided to order it. I won’t lie, a big factor in my decision was cover appeal (although the title is much more garishly orange on the real book than on the web image). I was also drawn in by the idea of an action-loving female field agent named Braun paired with a bookish male archivist named Books.


The Quantum Thief by Hannu Rajaniemi
(The Quantum Thief trilogy #1)
From: The library

I have made no progress with this science fiction novel during the last couple of weeks – it’s just been lying on my self. Now I mean to really tackle it, which is just as well, since I need to return it to the library next week… I am still interested, though.

Last week I read


Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal
From:
My bookshelf

This fantasy novel set in Regency England where magic exists was a charming and quick read. Read more of my thoughts about it in my August Wrap-Up post.

Last week I posted

August Wrap-Up – with mini-reviews and links to longer ones
Graphic Reads #2 – my thoughs on the graphic novels I’ve read most recently
Finnlit: Thoughts on “The Falling Sky” – review of a Finnish YA dystopian novel

 

“It’s Monday, what are you reading?” is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

3 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

    • I’ll report how I’m feeling when I’ve read more of it!

      A good, quite serious steampunk book is Cherie Priest’s Boneshaker. It has zombies and airships, and a mother looking for her son. Priest has also written more books set in the same universe, but with different characters.

      Lighter steampunk with some romance can be found in Gail Carriger’s Parasol Protectorate series. It has werewolves and vampires, secret societies and inventors. The first book is called Soulless, and though it’s alright it isn’t quite as smoothly written as the following books in the series. They are a lot of fun filled with quirky characters.

Leave a Reply

