It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Things were quiet here on the blog and on the reading front last week due to the curse of the computer worker, a horrible neck & back pain. So this week I mostly stayed standing up and tried to do something that involved moving around.

I am currently reading


Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal
From: My bookshelf

Shades of Milk and Honey is a fantasy book set in Regency England. I read the first chapter yesterday and it was really charming. In Austenish fashion there is a family with two daughters who must be married off since they can’t inherit. What makes this fantasy is the existence of magic in the world – the manipulation of glamour is an essential skill for a lady.


The Quantum Thief by Hannu Rajaniemi
From: The library

I’m still reading this sci-fi book about a master thief as part of my Science Fiction Challenge. I made no progress last week due to the above mentioned back & neck pain.

Last week I read

Last Monday I finished Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins, the second Hunger games book, which I really enjoyed. After that I didn’t get any reading done until the weekend, when I was feeling better and could sit down for short periods of time and finish a couple of graphic novels.

Runaways vol.4: True Believers by Brian K. Vaughan, Adrian Alphona and Craig Yeung, is a super hero comic set in the Marvel Universe. I thought I was reading the first volume due to weird issue numbering, but it was the start of a new story arc and the character’s were properly introduced, so I wasn’t confused.

B.P.R.D.: Plague of Frogs 1 by Mike Mignola et al, takes place in the Hellboy universe and focuses on the other characters in the Bureau of Paranormal Research and Defense. I enjoyed it even though I haven’t read any Hellboy GNs before.

 

“It’s Monday, what are you reading?” is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

  1. Shades of Milk and Honey sounds amusing – more interesting than the original Austen book, lol! I thought Catching Fire was the best read of The Hunger Games series. :)

    • Shades of Milk and Honey shares the setting of Regency England with Austen’s work, but it is a completely original book, not a retelling like for example Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. Just in case I made it sound like a retelling.

      I’m actually pretty fond of Jane Austen’s original books, and I do like the setting. :) Another great alternate history Regency era fantasy book is Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, one of my favorite books ever. It’s very long, though, but worth it!

      • I just have to say that I LOVED Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell!! I wasn’t blogging back when I read that so I had no one to talk about it with, lol. Whenever I see someone mention it now I get all excited ;)

  2. Shades of Milk and Honey sounds really interesting to me, don’t think I’ve heard of it before. I hope you enjoy it and have a great week of reading :)

    • My sister read SoMaH a couple of months ago in one sitting and loved it, so I’m pretty sure I’ll like it, too. :)

      And I know, right? Jonathan Strange is soooo goood. I don’t know many people who have read it, either. I really should re-read it…

Leave a Reply

