It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

I knew I shouldn’t have posted any “I plan to read” books last week, ’cause I ended up reading completely different ones! The reason why I didn’t read Girl of Nightmares by Kendare Blake was because I wasn’t feeling like it, and I want to read it when I’m in the right mood so as not to spoil the experience for myself.

This week I’m reading a red book and a blue book. The pictures take you to GoodReads as always.

I am currently reading


The Quantum Thief by Hannu Rajaniemi
From: The library

A science fiction novel about a master thief called Jean le Flambeur who is rescued from prison by a woman called Mieli with her spidership Perhonen. So far it has been a very weird, very different, and very interesting read. I’m only a few chapters in. The writer is Finnish, btw, but this was still originally published in English! I’m reading this as part of my 2012 Sci-Fi Challenge.


Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
(The Hunger Games #2)
From: My sister

I don’t think this book needs an introduction: It’s the second Hunger Games book, continuing the saga of BAMF Katniss Everdeen against the Capitol. My sister loaned me this ages ago, but I only now got around to reading it. I’m almost finished. Like the first book, this one just sucks you in and you’ve read a couple of hundred pages before you know it.

Last week I read


Kadonneet kyyneleet (“Lost Tears”) by Mike Pohjola
From: The library

A Finnish YA fantasy book that takes place half in a fairytale-like world of flower, tree and mushroom spirits, and half in our modern world, where a depressed teenager tries to deal with her father’s death. I liked the book well enough, although it was a bit uneven.

Last week I posted

Thoughts on Forsaken – My review of Jana Oliver’s Forsaken
Thoughts on ‘Salem’s Lot – My review of Stephen King’s Salem’s Lot
Cold Days gets release date – News about the upcoming Dresden Files book

 

“It’s Monday, what are you reading?” is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

10 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

  1. I agree with Tanya about the cover for the Finnish book – it’s great. I like thief books, but I lean more towards fantasy than sci fi and if it’s that strange… I think I’ll pass.

    • I lean more towards fantasy than scifi, too! I forgot to mention in the description that I’m reading the book as part of my Sci-Fi Challenge, where I try to read science fiction books since I tend to avoid them… I really haven’t read much sci-fi.

    • I wasn’t really feeling the movie since we couldn’t get into Katniss’s head like you can in a book. I liked reading about her thoughts and motives for the things she did.

Leave a Reply

