July Wrap-Up

Huh. It seems like I didn’t read a lot of speculative fiction this month.

Fantasy / Sci-Fi


The Forest of Hands and Teeth
by Carrie Ryan
First published in 2009

This was a YA fantasy book about society after a zombie apocalypse. The zombie sequences were very good, and I loved the beginning in the village with the Sisterhood’s secrets and everything… but the book really dragged down for me every time that the obligatory love interest/love triangle was focused on. At the same time, I liked that the main character had desires and motivations apart from the love interest. I was entertained, but it could have been so much better.

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare – review here

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott card – review here

Other

The Lake Murder on the Orient Express 13 Little Blue Envelopes
The Lake
by Banana Yoshimoto
First published in 2005

A contemporary book about an artist who has just lost her mother, and her budding relationship with a young man suffering from a childhood trauma. I find the mood to be one of the captivating things in Banana’s books, and this story is filled with her usual simple but poetic language which gives me a feeling of tranquillity. To me, there is always an undertone of positivity in her writing although her stories deal with hard subjects like death.

Murder on the Orient Express
by Agatha Christie
First published in 1933
Read in Finnish

I have loved Hercule Poirot ever since childhood, when I watched the show with David Suchet, yet for the longest time I didn’t know what this story was about. Then I saw the film perhaps two years ago, and it was great watching it without knowing the murderer. Now, reading the book, it was great to look for all the clues and false clues and hints that Christie makes the characters drop. Definitely one of the more intriguing Poirot mysteries.

13 Little Blue Envelopes
by Maureen Johnson
First published in 2005

A YA novel where an American teenager travels Europe following the instructions in 13 envelopes left by her aunt. I didn’t like the love interest, and I often found the main character annoying. She seemed to find it quite a drag to travel around Europe and see beautiful sights. Yeah, such a horrible thing to have to do. Also, being European, I imagine I’d get more of an exotic factor from reading about a European teenager travelling around the States.

Graphic Novels

Read this month’s graphic novel reviews here, including:

  • Chew, Vol. 1: Taster’s Choice
  • Umbrella Academy, Vol. 1: Apocalypse Suite
  • Locke & Key, Vol. 2: Head Games

I also read Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol, and will share my thoughts on it in a future Graphic Reads post.

This post is linked to the Book Rat’s July Rewind/August TBR post.

Leave a Reply

