It’s Monday, what are you reading?

I am currently reading


Salem’s Lot by Stephen King
From: The library

A writer moves to a creepy town. Things happen.

I haven’t read too many Stephen King books. I’ve only read The Shining and On Writing, and I think I read Carrie in high school. I liked The Shining okay – those hedge animals were so scary – and I’ve wanted to read Salem’s Lot for a while now. I’ve been into vampire books ever since reading The Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice in 8th grade. I’m interested in seeing how this book tackles the issue.


13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson
From:
My sister

A 17 year old American girl travels in Europe following the instructions left by her aunt in 13 envelopes. My sister loaned this to me for some light summer reading. I’m halfway through and so far this is okay, nothing too special.

Last week I read


Chew, Vol. 1: Taster’s Choice by John Layman and Rob Guillory
– crime graphic novel / a cannibal agent investigates
The Umbrella Academy, Vol. 1: Apocalypse Suite by Gerard Way and Gabriel Ba
– superhero graphic novel / a group of quirky superheroes save the world
Locke and Key, Vol. 2: Head Games by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez
– horror graphic novel / the Locke children continue to investigate the keys of Keyhouse
City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments, book 2) by Cassandra Clare
– YA modern fantasy / teenage hormones and a fantasy battle of good vs evil

“It’s Monday, what are you reading?” is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

16 thoughts on “It’s Monday, what are you reading?

  1. I really should read more of Stephen King. I loved 11/22/63. I read “It” a long time ago and have never felt the same way about clowns since.

  2. Looks like last week was pretty awesome in reading, and hope you have another great one this week. It’s been a while since I read any Stephen King, but I definitely want to re-read a few of the ones I really enjoyed (well, that’s probably like all of them).

    • I didn’t really like it. I’m actually going to do a little post about it tomorrow. The first book was definitely better, there were some off moments in this second one.

    • It seems a lot of people have enjoyed 13 Little Blue Envelopes. I think for it to feel more exotic to me it would have to be about a teen who goes overseas to America. :)

  3. Salem’s Lot? Cool :) I hope you’ll enjoy it. I’ve wanted to read it for years now, but still haven’t… I’m actually planning to finally read The Dark Tower series, I even signed up for a challenge, too, so I don’t postpone it again ;)

    I’ve also read 13 Little Blue Envelopes a couple of years ago & I enjoyed it a lot.

    Happy reading!!!

    • The Dark Tower series looks like a lot of reading! I’m hesitant about starting it, I’ve heard good things but then also very bad things.

      So far 13 Little Blue Envelopes is okay, I’m waiting to see if I start to enjoy it more as it goes on.

Leave a Reply

