It’s Monday, what are you reading?

“It’s Monday, what are you reading?” is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey. It’s a great way to see what others are currently reading, and perhaps get new reading tips for yourself.

I am currently reading

City of Ashes
City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare
Book Two of the Mortal Instruments series

I was hesitant to pick up City of Bones, the first book in this series. I’ve found that many YA books focus on the romance at the expense of the plot, and was afraid that the same would happen here.  It wasn’t the case with the book, though. I found it to be a good modern fantasy, slightly in tone with e.g. Buffy the Vampire Slayer: a group of teenagers in a world filled with supernatural things. The characters and the plot were interesting, and the writer’s voice is good, and easy to read.

I just remembered the biggest factor in why I decided to pick the first one up: I had seen the Clockwork Angel in a book store, and it had a great cover and looked really interesting. I thought it would be better to read the Mortal Instruments series first to better understand the Infernal Devices novels, although I’m not sure if that is strictly necessary.

Last week I read


The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan
– fantasy YA / society after a zombie apocalypse
The Lake by Banana Yoshimoto
– contemporary / of love and death
Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie
– mystery / Hercule Poirot & a murder on a train

3 thoughts on “It’s Monday, what are you reading?

Leave a Reply

